More mold-making

I am done with mold making for a while, at least until Dick Blick has another 20% off sale on their silicone rubber.

Anyhow, here are some items before and during the molding process. I didn’t have enough silicone rubber to do the coffin, so that one will wait. To get the size I wanted, I had to first make a mold the inner coffin from soap. I will then make my mold around that. I tried making a mold around my entire, original coffin but its just too big. That extra quarter of an inch I’m shaving off makes a difference.

IMG_0833 IMG_0836 IMG_0835 IMG_0825 IMG_0824 IMG_0839

I’ve attempted a book-shaped mold before, but was not entirely pleased with the result. I find that if the book cover overhangs the pages by too much, it doesn’t work so well as a soap mold. On this little leather diary I used, I created a buffer zone out of clay and scraped pages into the clay. We’ll see how it turns out. Diary is ruined, but it’ll be worth it if it makes cool soap, right?

Leave a Reply

